Stun guns in the United States are legal in 42 states and are not considered to be firearms. You may possess a stun gun or taser as long as you are 18 years or older, don’t have a felony record, and use it only for self defense purposes. Below we have an overview on which states and localities allow or prohibit the use and possession of stun guns.
States in which Stun Guns are Illegal
Listed below are the states where stun guns are completely prohibited and are illegal.
1. District of Columbia
District of Columbia law states the possession and sale of a any “destructive device” such as a stun gun to be deemed illegal.
Under Title 10, Chapter 134, Hawaii State Law prohibits for any person from possessing or selling any electric gun.
Chapter 140 of Massachusetts State Law claims it is illegal to possess or sell any stunning device. Breaking this law can lead up to a fine of $500-$1000 or up to 2 years in jail.
4. New Jersey
New Jersey State law Title 2C, prohibits anyone from carrying weapons that emit an electrical charge capable enough to disable a person.
5. New York
Book 39, Article 265 of the New York Consolidated Law states that possession of a stun gun is illegal. Negligence to this law can carry a fourth degree charge.
6. Rhode Island
Title 11, Chapter 47 of Rhode Island Law states it is prohibited for any person to carry, possess, or attempt to use any weapon commonly known as a stun gun.
States in which Stun Guns Are Legal without Restrictions:
Stun guns are legal in the following states without any major restrictions. Remember you still have to be 18 years or older and not have a felony record to be able to possess a stun gun for self defense.
7. Delaware (Prohibited in Newark, Wilmingston, and New County)
22. New Hampshire
23. New Mexico
24. North Dakota
28. South Carolina
29. South Dakota
36. West Virginia
States in which Stun Guns carry restrictions
1. Connecticut – Legal but only allowed on your own property/home.
2. Illinois – Legal but requires a Firearms license.
3. Maryland – Legal but illegal in Annapolis, Baltimore, and Howard County
4. Michigan – Legal but requires Firearms license and online purchase is prohibited.
5. North Carolina – Legal but concealed carry outside own property is prohibited
6. Pennsylvania – Legal but prohibited in the city of Philadelphia
7. Wisconsin – Legal but requires a CCW (Concealed Carry) Permit
Traveling with a Stun Gun
Stun Guns are only allowed in checked baggage and are prohibited from carry-on. Each specific airline may have certain rules regarding stun guns so it’s best to check with them before you travel. You can also visit the Transportation Security Administration website to find more information on stun gun travel laws.
To get the most accurate and up to date information on stun gun laws in your area its best to contact your local law enforcement department. You can also check each State’s respective website to read more on stun gun laws.
If you enjoyed this guide and found it helpful please leave a comment below and be sure to share it.